Annual General Meeting Minutes 2010

Minutes of the Cottenham Village Design Group Annual General Meeting Held on 2nd March 2010 at 7.30 pm, at Cottenham Village College (CVC) The evening started with a talk on:

School Buildings in Cambridgeshire

Guest Speaker Stephen Wyard presented the talk which was detailed and informative concerning new schools in Cambridgeshire, with a focus on the CVC proposals. This was followed by a talk by Peter Marshall deputy head of CVC.

The Cottenham Village Design Group (CVDG) AGM

Committee Attendees:	Alex Thoukydides, Steven Poole, Bill Miller, Alex Darby, Patrick
	Clark, John Williams, Henry Le Brecht, Clare Le Brecht.
Committee Apologies:	Mike Smith (Chair), Tim Wotherspoon, Alan Leeks, Sue Gymer.

Approval of 2009 AGM Meeting Minutes

Approved.

Patrick Clark "Vice Chair" presented a review of the year's activities

Patrick provided an annual summary of the range of activities of the CVDG -

- Regular planning comments made within the parish are a reminder to the Planning Officers of the guidance contained in the Village Design Statement.
- Continuing comments made concerning Minerals and Waste proposals affecting Long Drove and the Donarbon site.
- CVDG joining the You Tube generation with a video now linked to our website.
- Continuing the publication of the CVDG newsletter detailing the group's activities.
- Talks including 'On Your Bike' an insight into cycling in Cambridge and the proposed Cottenham cycle path.
- Guided tours of the history of buildings in the High Street held on the FEFF weekend.
- FEFF culture tent quiz which attracted 90 entries.
- Arranging the next visit to the Donarbon Site due 19th March 2010.

Steve Poole, Planning Officer, presented an overview of 2010 planning comments results

Steven Poole stated that the number of applications reviewed over the last year was down 50% compared to the average over previous years. He said this could have been due to the recession and the extension of planning 'Permitted Development Rights' which have eliminated the need for some small planning applications. He put up charts and graphs to explain the trends. In summary these are: 46 applications in total of which approximately 50% are for house extensions.

Bill Miller, Treasurer

Bill Miller put up the accounts. In summary the 2009-2010 accounts had a similar low level of activity to the previous year. However the balance on the accounts at the year end was £538 which he said was more than adequate for the activities that might be planned for the year.

Amendment to the Constitution

Henry and Clare Le Brecht said they had moved from Cottenham to Waterbeach and would like to remain as part of the Committee. They mentioned Clause 3 of the constitution "Membership of the Group shall be open to those who live in, own property in or represent a company based in Cottenham." Patrick Clark proposed an amendment to this Clause to read "Membership of the Group shall be open to residents and past residents of Cottenham and those who own property in or represent a company based in Cottenham."

A vote was taken on this amendment and it was passed unanimously. It was noted that this amendment would need to be posted on the group's website.

Q&A

There was a discussion on how to increase the number of members:

Fun run stall - Talk to the Village Society - Each committee member to bring in a new member for the next meeting.

There was discussion about why the School Buildings Talk was not as well attended as previous talks.

Election of the Committee and Officers

i) The following remain as committee members:-

Clare Le Brecht, Henry Le Brecht, Bill Miller, Steven Poole.

- The following Committee Members were unanimously elected: Patrick Clark, Alex Darby, Robin Heydon, Alexander Thoukydides, John Williams, Tim
 Wotherspoon.
- iii) The following are nominees.
 - Fen Edge Community Association, Mike Smith.
 - Cottenham Parish Council, Cllr Alan Leeks.
 - Cambridgeshire County Council, Cllr Sue Gymer.
- iv) The following remain as officers:-Chair Mike Smith, Vice Chair Patrick Clark, Treasurer -Bill Miller, Planning Comments Coordinator - Steven Poole, Information Officer - Alex Darby.
- v) The following officers were unanimously elected: -Secretary Clare Le Brecht, Membership Secretary - Henry Le Brecht.

Any Other Business

Patrick Clark reminded the committee to make an effort to recruit new members and thanked all the committee (on behalf of Mike Smith) for their good work.

Next meeting

The next Committee meeting is to be held on Wednesday 21st April 2010 at 243 High Street Cottenham Cambridge at 8.00 pm.

END OF MINUTES.