Annual General Meeting Minutes 2012

Minutes of the Cottenham Village Design Group Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 23rd February 2012, 7:45pm at Cottenham Community Centre The evening started with a talk on:

How Local is Localism?

Guest Speaker Andy Thompson from Beacon Planning explained the Localism Act and its implications for Cottenham.

This was followed by:

The Cottenham Village Design Group (CVDG) AGM

Committee Attendees: Mike Smith (Chair), Alan Leeks, Alex Darby, Alexander Thoukydides,

Bill Miller, John Williams, Robin Heydon, Steven Poole, Sue Gymer,

Tim Wotherspoon

Committee Apologies: Clare Le Brecht, Henry Le Brecht, Lynda Harford

Approval of 2011 AGM Meeting Minutes Approved.

Mike Smith (Outgoing Chair) presented a review of the year's activities

Mike provided an annual summary of the range of activities of the CVDG in 2011-2012:

- Visited a debate regarding buildings in Cambridge
- Visited Orchard Park, where the Design Group expressed views on future development of the Park
- At the FEFF had a display and quiz in the new Cottenham Village College Sixth Form Centre, and held guided tours of the High Street with narrative about the buildings' history
- Gave a talk to South Cambridge Rotary Club about the Design Statement and the activities of the Design Group
- Attended the Energy Day arranged by Sustainable Cottenham at Cottenham Community Centre
- Responded to the Draft National Planning Policy Framework consultation
- Considered South Cambridgeshire District Council's Strategic Housing Land Availability Assessment
- Participated in discussions with the Co-Op about the redevelopment of their store
- Provided input to the potential developer of the site at the corner of Beach Road and Long Drove for 47 new houses, including attending an exhibition, arranging two meetings with representatives of David Wilson Homes and submitting two significant responses to the planning applications
- Published regular newsletters to members and wrote articles for Cottenham newsletter
- Arranged a festive meal at the Curry Palace
- Arranged the Localism talk that preceded the AGM

Alex Darby (Planning Comments Coordinator) presented an overview of planning comments

Alex stated that there were 67 planning applications for Cottenham during 2011, compared with 68 the previous year. Once again applications for extensions dominated (44%), with the next most common being infill developments of one or two dwellings (15%). There were also applications for the Co-Op store, Malary Oils and Cottenham Skips.

In 2011-2012, the Design Group commented on 56 out of the 67 applications received by South Cambridgeshire District Council. The Design Group continued the trend of making mainly positive comments, with only 16% objecting or being negative about the application. This tallies with the resulting planning decisions where 75% of applications were granted.

Mike Smith presented the accounts prepared by Henry Le Brecht (Treasurer)

The final balance on 31st January was down to £484.35 from £541.89 the previous year due to the combination of reduced membership (and hence subscriptions) and slightly increased expenditure. However, this is more than adequate for the activities that might be planned for the year.

Election of the Committee and Officers

- i. The nominees remain unchanged:
 - Fen Edge Community Association Mike Smith
 - Cottenham Parish Council Cllr Alan Leeks
 - Cambridgeshire County Council Cllr Sue Gymer
 - Neither Cottenham Village Society nor South Cambridgeshire District Council nominated representatives.
- ii. The following remain as committee members:
 - Alex Darby, Alexander Thoukydides, Bill Miller, Henry Le Brecht, Patrick Clark, Steven Poole
- iii. The following committee members were unanimously elected:
 - John Williams, Cllr Lynda Harford[†], Robin Heydon, Cllr Tim Wotherspoon
- iv. The following officer positions were elected:
 - Chair Steven Poole (2012)
 - Vice Chair John Williams (2012)
 - Secretary Henry Le Brecht (2012)
 - Treasurer Henry Le Brecht (2011)
 - Membership Secretary Cllr Lynda Harford[†] Bill Miller (2012)
 - Planning Comments Coordinator Alex Darby (2011)
 - Information Officer Alexander Thoukydides (2011)

Steven Poole (Incoming Chair)

Steven thanked Mike for the exceptional job he did as chair for the last three years. He went on to say that there was likely to be an opportunity to work with the Parish Council to produce a Neighbourhood Plan. He would also like to organise a return visit to Poundbury.

[†] Lynda Harford was elected in-absentia but subsequently resigned from the committee due to the potential for conflict of interest with her District Council planning roles. Bill Miller was elected by the committee to fill the vacated Membership Secretary position.